A Refreshing Change is in Your Future

Good Morning! I don’t know about you, but I can’t sleep. I woke up bursting with inspiration to write. Which is pretty amazing considering it has been a very long time since I felt the inspiration to do much of anything!

The last few months my life has been in complete upheaval. I have pushed my limits emotionally and physically. And I have been left feeling exhausted and overwhelmed for a number of reasons.

My current job is very demanding and although it may seem easy to some to simply walk away at the end of the work day or take a day off without worrying about the aftermath. For me, that is not an option. I take a great deal of pride in my work, so if there is still work to do my day does not end and many times my weekends never get started. It’s great for my employer, but not so great for me as I am beginning to realize. I enjoy my job and I love the people I work with, but I need to find some type of resolution to this before I get burned out.

I spend all day on the computer, so needless to say I have not felt much like jumping back on at the end of the day and writing. However, I forgot how important it was to my mental health to do just that. Writing is a way to center myself. A way to stay in tune with who I am and where I want to go from here. In the absence of it, I begin to lose myself.

Without regular reflection, I begin to fall back into old patterns and the great deal of progress I have made over the last few years begins to fade.

Well enough is enough! Every day we are faced with conflicts and challenges, that is a given. However, we do not need to allow them to rule us. There is a balance in everything and I just need to find it. How you ask?

The first step…just breathe…in with the good and out with the bad. Rather than having a mini meltdown over whatever is bothering me, I need to take a moment to take a deep breath and center myself before tackling whatever obstacle is in my way. The problem will still be there, but I will be better able to deal with it after a moment of catching my breath.

Dyer would say, “The morning has secrets to tell…don’t go back to sleep.”

Perhaps that was the reason for waking up at 4 AM bursting with inspiration today! Kind of a way of putting myself in check before tackling the tasks at hand 🙂

2 thoughts on “A Refreshing Change is in Your Future

Leave a Reply

