Weekly Inspiration: Dear Me

What would I tell my younger self?

I have been reading my old high school journals to help with the timeline for my next memoir. It is a very strange feeling to be reading the words of your teenage self. There was so much sadness and anger on those pages that I began to feel anxious. I just wanted to reach through the pages and give myself a hug, to tell myself to calm down and that it would all work out okay.

For this reason, I keep getting stuck. I have spent so much time trying to move forward and have made such great strides in self improvement that it is uncomfortable revisiting that head space. It is so far from where I am now that I have trouble relating. Although, like with Insane Roots it is a good therapy session. With each book I grow and this one is proving to be no different. But how do I keep myself from getting bogged down in the energy of it? This need to comfort my younger self?

Then I remembered what a dear friend of mine told me about a process of self healing that involved doing just that.

I am sure you can remember a time in your life when you felt alone, depressed or let down in some way. By going back to that time in your mind and giving yourself the comfort you lacked in that moment so long ago, you have the ability to heal old wounds. It may sound ludicrous to some, but if you are game I urge you to try it. After all, what do you really have to lose?  I seriously doubt it could be bad for you.

It was in one of those moments that I started thinking about all the things I would tell my younger self.

Now don’t get me wrong, if I had it to do all over again, I wouldn’t change anything. I like myself just as I am, scars and all.

I would however tell myself to stop and smell the roses and to never forget the importance of spending time with the ones you love. Time is so precious and each day a gift. You never know how much time you have with someone until it is too late. So, use your time wisely and spend it with those you hold closest to your heart.

Okay, your turn! What would you tell your younger self?

7 thoughts on “Weekly Inspiration: Dear Me

  1. Don’t take anything for granted. Take advantage of every opportunity that you get. Life isn’t going to turn out the way you want just cause you want it to.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I would tell my teenage self to buy Microsoft stock.

    Of course everything that my teenage self was thinking and feeling turned out to be temporary and not at all important in the long run, but it’s hard to explain to anyone that their current reality is not going to matter in 10 years. Everything I have been through and experienced has put me on the journey of who I know I want to be. Who knows? If I had it easy in high school, would I even have had to try to ‘find myself’?

    PS: I was introduced to your blog through Dream Big Dream Often.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Great one! & good question, idk who I’d be had my life been easier, perhaps very different and not so empathetic and I’m not sure that would be good. Thanks so much for sharing and thanks to Dream Big love his blog!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

