Full Circle!

As promised…an update on my progress!

As I mentioned in my post last week, I have been fighting a battle that is all too familiar to many…my weight!

I am happy to report that I have finally made some notable progress. The scale was my enemy for so long that I refused to weigh myself over the last month. After all, healthy weight loss is usually slow, so I figured why put pressure on it by constantly checking in on the scale. Every time I would step on and not see any change, it would send me down a spiral of disappointment and negativity. For this reason, I stopped and worked on letting go of my feelings of insecurity instead. I embraced my current state of being and reminded myself at every turn of the positive attributes of myself. I even took it one step further and made a mental note of some of the positives surrounding the weight I have gained.

Most notably the awareness it has given me of some of the unhealthy habits that I have acquired over the last few years. After all, one can be thin and still not be living a very healthy lifestyle. And I like my curves, not all the extra baggage, but my hour-glass figure is something I prefer over being stick thin. The point I guess I am trying to make is that there is a balance.

So for the first time in over a month, I decided to step on the scale. More out of curiosity rather than measuring my progress. And you know what?!

I have lost 8 lbs!!

It may not seem like a lot, but it is confirmation for me that I am on the right track. There is a lot less pressure on me now, because I know in my heart that I am well on my way to where I want to me.

Perhaps more importantly, the boost to my self-esteem has been incredibly life changing. I was speaking to a friend of mine about the topic and she reminded me that 2 years ago I embarked on a journey to reconnect with myself, love myself and become the confident person I used to be so long ago.

I am about to start another new chapter of my life and put all the pain and self-destructing emotions behind me. How fitting it is that I close this current chapter by overcoming the very last hurdle on the journey I began just two years prior; my self-esteem.

When I moved to Colorado in the fall of 2014, I was at an all time low emotionally. I was my worst enemy most of the time. Struggling to find my place in the world. Ruled by fear at every turn, creatively stagnant, emotionally drained and hopelessly defeated.

It is empowering to look back at those times now and see such notable progress on every level of my being. And to know that I will never be in that place again, because I have put in the time, done the work and rebuilt my life from the rubble of what was once a downward spiral of depression.

I am a new person, one that I treasure and someone I will never let go of again.

I want to thankย  you all for the support and encouragement you have offered to me over the trying times of the past. You have built me up and giving me the courage to rise again.

For that I will always be grateful, perhaps more than you will ever know.

17 thoughts on “Full Circle!

Leave a Reply

