Public Speaking…Check!

Thank you all for the words of encouragement for Wednesday’s book reading, my first! It went really well and I was able to loosen up enough by the end to really enjoy myself. It was uplifting to see the excitement in the audience after I finished the first story, My Crazy Mother. I barely finished asking if they would like me to read another when hands started popping up, followed by attentive eyes and a stereo exclamation of “Yes!”

My hands and voice lost their shake as I opened the pages to the next selection I had picked and began. After reading the title, I noticed a woman flipping the pages of her copy of the book so I said, “For those of you following along, it’s page 76” and we greeted one another with a smile. I had to hold the excitement back. Not only were people here, but they are engaged! This is exactly how I had envisioned this moment for so many years. I knew if I could find the courage to face my fears, my life would never be the same.

A friend of mine sitting in the front row said I spoke with confidence and pride as I read the lighthearted tale of my trip to Disney World with my foster family. By the end of the passage, I didn’t want it to end! I just wanted to keep reading! Which is so funny considering how terrified I was to do it at all…haha!

After the reading came the really fun part! The discussion of the book 🙂 We filled up the remaining hour with a question and answer session that basically turned in to story time with me as the lead.  I told them funny stories about my child and they shared treasured moments from theirs. It was great!  There was one particular woman in the front row who was very touched by my story and applauded me for having the courage to write it. We talked about my mission to empower others and she told me that meeting me had inspired her. It really touched my heart and gives me great hope for the mission ahead.

It was another moment I will never forget. The collection of which will continue to fuel my desire to uplift and inspire others for as long and as much as I can 🙂

So thankful!!

 

7 thoughts on “Public Speaking…Check!

  1. Hi,
    Congratulations on being Danny Ray’s featured blogger. I was his featured blogger too. Maybe you can check out my blog if you need a blogging tip or two. That’s what I write about.
    In response to what you wrote, I agree it took a lot of courage. Congratulations on giving support. What a wonderful memory for you.
    Janice

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

