Stepping Out of My Comfort Zone

Well, I have my first speaking event for Insane Roots this Wednesday at Tattered Cover in Denver and I am not afraid to tell you that I am a bit terrified. As most of you know, speaking in front of a crowd is not in any realm of my comfort zone! So although I am extremely grateful for the opportunity and a part of me is super excited, the other part of me is shaking uncontrollably lol.

I have done a lot of signings over the last six months and I am feeling very comfortable with those, but I never really had to speak to more than a few people at once. This time it will be all eyes on me! I know it is a part of publishing a book and a necessary fear to overcome, but that doesn’t make it that much easier to do.

Luckily, I have practice reading my memoir aloud as I finished recording the audio some time ago. I am not so worried about that as I am about the fact that I will be the center of attention. Something, I usually try my hardest to avoid.

Some time ago, I wrote about the prospect that perhaps part of our purpose in this life is to challenge ourselves to face our biggest fears. I remember asking, what if the only way to achieve our greater purpose is to overcome what terrifies us the most?

My truest desire is to help others empower themselves despite the many challenges in their life. I know in order to do that, I must first empower myself to spread the message. What better way to do that than to share my experience, to speak from my heart to anyone willing to listen. If I let fear hold me back, than I am not teaching a lesson of empowerment, I am reaffirming fear of the unfamiliar. And in all essence, I am a hypocrite.

So I will stand up tall, hold the microphone proudly and step graciously outside of my comfort zone.

9 thoughts on “Stepping Out of My Comfort Zone

  1. Congratulations on publishing your book. I know that public speaking can be scary at first but after doing it for a few times, you will be able to ace it. Don’t worry too much of the audience. Just try to enjoy yourself up there and try to imagine that you are talking to yourself or family members. It does get easier over time. Much love ❤

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I’m sure you knocked it out of the park! Like Izrael said, it does get easier. Once you get comfortable with it you’ll almost look forward to doing it because it is a skill that most people are not willing to learn and people admire those who do!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

