If You Truly Love Someone Set Them Free

After a deeply felt heartbreak many years ago, there was always a question in the back of mind as to if I would ever be able to love someone again. 

It was a breath of fresh air to fall for someone again. Even though they don’t feel the same way, I am thankful. 

For it was in that moment that I realized there was no need to worry, for I now know that I most certainly can love again. 

And perhaps the best part of it all is the knowledge that I love myself so much more now that I am content with loving someone without the need of its return. 

To love someone is not always to be with them, but rather to wish them all the happiness in the world…even if you are not their one. 

This belief that the right one is out there somewhere waiting for me and I am ready  whenever the time is right. 

I am no longer looking for completion, but rather the amazing joy that comes from sharing our lives together. 

11 thoughts on “If You Truly Love Someone Set Them Free

  1. I agree that you must love yourself in order to give love to someone else. But love that is given and not appreciated or returned will fade away. Maybe that is what you are saying in a different way. Certainly you must be open and ready to receive love and not put up emotional walls because of past hurts. Just my thoughts. Best wishes.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for your insightfulness. No walls up here, just the opposite. I was rejoicing the moment of realization that comes when we open our selves up to the possibility of love after loss and how much more ready we become after lessons have been learned from hearts broken 🙂 Best wishes to you too!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi Insane Roots,
    I know A Momma’s View. I agree with your premise. However, it is painful to let someone you love go. Thank you for dropping by my site. I’m glad you liked my Blogger’s Pit Stop post.
    Janice

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

