Where Do You Get Your Inspiration?

I think the question I am asked most as a writer is where I get my inspiration? It’s a great question and one that is not always that easy to answer. There are times when, without explanation, an idea will jump into my head and I am stricken with a deep need to express it.

Often it is just as I am stepping outside. As the air hits my face my mind becomes filled with poetry! I can not tell you how many poems I have written during my breaks at work ๐Ÿ™‚

Other times, I am in the mood to write, but I just can’t seem to get started and/or narrow down a topic. Good ole writer’s block…an author’s worst nightmare! In the midst of one of those moments, I remembered a gift a very dear friend of mine gave me not too long ago that I thought would be helpful to share with anyone else who may have a case of the dreaded block!

She sent me a notebook, along with 50 or so tiny pieces of paper about the size of the ones found in fortune cookies.ย Each one of them containing a writing prompt.

IMG_2982

 

I have not read any of them except for the one on the very top of the stack, “A list of things you’re thankful for”

So…I thought it would be fun to start a feature where each week I will pick one of the prompts from the bowl and write about it. Sort of a weekly writing challenge if you will ๐Ÿ™‚

I look forward to reading the posts from anyone else who wants to take the challenge with me!

 

And on that note…

IMG_2983

 

 

 

Today’s pick is…

 

 

IMG_2989

 

 

 

“A skill you want to learn”

 

 

Okay, good one. There are many, but if I had to only pick one it would definitely be the one I am currently working on mastering; public speaking. Something I have avoided my entire life and I mean intentionally avoided too!

College was really hard for me in that respect. Just raising my hand meant I had to speak in front of the class, which made my skin crawl, so I just never did it. I was the girl in the very back corner who never spoke…the phantom student…lol.

I try not to have regrets, but if I had it to do all over again (knowing how important that skill would be to me now), I would have tried to tackle my fears early on. I never imagined there would come a day when I would be scheduling book signing/reading events. I mean I dreamed of publishing a book, but I am not sure I thought too much about all that comes along with it.

Thankfully, the more events I do, the more comfortable I feel. It’s easy when your heart is in it. I find that my passion out weighs my fear on most occasions! Plus, I am speaking about my life and my mother, two subjects I am pretty well versed in, so that helps too ๐Ÿ™‚

I look forward to the day when I can confidently walkย  on to a stage or speak to a group of people and inspire them in some way!

I know I will get there someday and until then I am going to relax and savor the journey ahead.

What about you? What skill would you like to learn?

22 thoughts on “Where Do You Get Your Inspiration?

  1. It feels cool to see someone with similar dreams. Even though I have gotten better at Oratory and public speaking; I just feel I need to get better each time I watch a few ‘gurus’ mount a podium..
    Just keep working hard on it.. you would get there for sure.
    Love your amazing blog.
    Hope to share in future thoughts.
    Bless ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I am going to interpret “skill” as something physical rather than in the realm of emotional intelligence. That said I would love to ski. My family skis and we live in Colorado so it is a great way to get some sun and air in the winter. It isn’t just the skill I am missing…but I need to limit my fear of heights to really get up there.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Caught this on the above reblog…and definitely food for thought…publishing my novel in waiting is up there on my list of things to strive for…not sure about skiing though ๐Ÿค”

    Great post and hope you don’t mind a follow ๐Ÿ™ƒ

    Liked by 1 person

      • You’re very welcome. Thanks for saying that too…the waiting is really blah…not expecting my manuscript back from my proofer until the end of next month but deciding which path to take is doing my head in ๐Ÿค”

        Liked by 1 person

      • Voice of experience…no doubt I shall reflect back and also consider the timing was right post event….but now…catastrophising is my mantra…to indie publish or agent hunt….terrible times ๐Ÿ˜œ

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: โ€œA skill you want to learnโ€ Posted by Insane Roots | Advocate for Mental Illness

  5. That’s a good one. I, too, need to work on this — perhaps take a class or join Toastmasters. I was asked to speak at a 5th grade promotion ceremony in a week. Uuugh! Although they’re little people, there will be big people there too. Wish me well. ๐Ÿ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Pingback: Skill Mastery | Alicia James 101

Leave a Reply

