Be Courageous!

I believe that being open and honest with the people we hold dear to our hearts is the most important action we possess. Tomorrow is not promised to any of us and I would hate to leave this world with words unsaid. Therefore I find it essential that those around me know just how I feel about them. Whether it be a simple reminder to my best friend that I love her or coming clean to someone about feelings you’ve had cooped up inside, it doesn’t matter. What matters is the satisfaction you feel knowing that you have said all that you needed to say.

Whether these feelings are reciprocated is irrelevant. I can rest easy knowing that when I lay my head down at night, I have left nothing unsaid. It can be a little too much for some people, but that’s on them. I would rather put it all on the table, than to look back and hold regrets for the words I couldn’t find the courage to speak. I am no coward!

Life is all about taking risks and I think it is better to have taken a risk and faced rejection that to spend the rest of our lives wondering if things would have been different had we only spoken our mind.

Don’t be afraid of the possibility of reaching a dead-end.

Instead, think of it as a fork in the road. It’s life’s way of telling you that you need to take a different path, a better path, your destined path.

Be courageous in the face of uncertainty, using the actions of others as your compass rather than your validation.

Photo courtesy of Winnond via FreeDigitalPhotos.net

13 thoughts on “Be Courageous!

  1. I appreciate these words of encouragement,

    I am in a situation where I am afraid to all the way express myself and I don’t know why I’ve always been like this.

    I am angry about the past and I want to let it go, how do i let it go in a constructive and productive manner, I know that I love them, so that is important to truly be honest and express myself I just fear hurting anyone’s feelings especially because its a female who I see as an older sister.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for your comment! It can be so hard sometimes, but it is important to remember that in order to have a genuine experience with someone we must try our best to be honest and open with them. When we hold back or cling to old pain we prevent ourselves from growing. Something that has worked for me is to always begin with “Because I value our relationship so much, I feel it is important to express to you how I am feeling…” This helps ease the listener that you are coming from a place of love. As far as getting over the past, I struggled w/ this for many years…I found it helpful to list each item causing me pain and then search for then lesson in it. It helped me to become appreciative of what the experience taught me. Then when I started dwelling on it I could remind myself of the positive aspect of the experience. I hope this helps 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi,
    I know Danny, Matt, Michelle, and Robert.
    I believe in communication. I agree with what you wrote it is better to see things and leave them unsaid.
    Congratulations on being Danny Ray’s featured blogger. I was his featured blogger too. Maybe you can check out my site if you need blogging tip or two. That’s what I write about.
    Janice

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

