Hazards of Instant Gratification

In today’s society the concept of instant gratification is running rampant!

I think we may have forgotten the true meaning of important. People are so wrapped up in themselves that perhaps they forget to take the time and effort of others in to consideration?

I get emails daily flagged as important and they are almost always not in regards to any matter of life and death. So in essence that exclamation point added to the email tells me that you feel your time is more important than mine or that of others. Demanding something be done immediately that in all reality doesn’t need to be or can not be done immediately really grinds my gears.

There are people starving, battling cancer or any other number of life threatening circumstances. In my opinion, that is what is truly important, not sending you information you should already have if you used your own time wisely to keep track of your own life!

There is a great difference between serving others and being their servant. I am more than willing to help anyone with anything in my power, but I refuse to drop everything or push the needs of others (or myself) to the wayside, just to resolve the minor need of another more demanding person. I will let you in on a little secret…the more demanding you are the less likely I am to cater to you.You know the saying, “the early bird gets the worm”? There is a reason they don’t say, “the most demanding bird gets the worm”. The louder the bird squawks at it’s dinner the less likely it will be to get what it wants.

Patience is a virtue and one that I myself am still learning to master. So I understand that it can be challenging some times. We all want what me want right now and I am no exception to that rule, but there is one difference…I am aware that the instant gratification I am seeking may not always be possible and I will grow from the experience of waiting. In time all that is meant to be will be and there can still be great appreciation in receiving gratification even when (maybe more so) it is delayed.

Our time on this earth is so precious. Why spend it sweating the small stuff? Making unrealistic demands of others for your own personal gain? Where is the growth in that?

We are here to share in this experience of life, to grow with one another and better ourselves for what is to come. Our time here is finite, let’s not waste it in a state of constant expectation, but rather in a state of appreciation for all that we have.

“Like the air you breathe, abundance in all things is available to you. Your life will simply be as good as you allow it to be.” ~ Abraham Hicks

Image courtesy ofย  Piyato at FreeDigitalPhotos.net

13 thoughts on “Hazards of Instant Gratification

  1. appreciate more, and talk less about the minutia that others steer towards…. ahhh yes. hope you have a great- and well appreciated- weekend, and day, and breath, and everything else you have right NOW. momentummikey ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I was hoping to get some sympathy this morning by moaning about my headache and then I remembered a friend who is in the hospital still trying after months to recover from a brain injury when she hit her head while skiing. My small problem is insignificant beside hers. I should be thankful I only have a headache and redirect my get well thoughts to her.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

