Unwrapped! 

I wanted to take a moment today to send love to each person who has touched my life! No matter what you are doing this holiday season, I hope you are having a beautiful day.

This Christmas has been a very special experience for me. Several years ago, this was a holiday I dreaded every year. Many of my memories of this holiday had been rooted in disappointment. So much so that I turned in to a bit of a scrooge. I think I thought that if I just skipped the holiday all the hurtful memories would somehow go away.

It doesn’t work like that.

And it was sad, because Christmas was always one of my favorite holidays. I was shorting myself a joyful experience in fear of the disappointment it may bring or the resurfacing of hurt from the past.

This year has been very different.

As I gather with family and friends, I am over joyed with the love and support that surrounds me. I began thinking last night about how each person in my life has been brought there by events in my past. Whether it be through mutual tragedy or a simple twist of fate, I have been gifted with the blessing of unconditional love and friendship.

There is no reason to live in the past. That will just keep you there and make building a future that much more difficult.

The entire process of publishing Insane Roots has allowed me to fully come to terms with all that I have survived and to learn my own strength.

I know who I am, what I want and more importantly I am inspired enough to go out and get it!

My joy is my own responsibility and it is much easier to find when I am in a state of appreciation 🙂

Which is the exact state I was in when I awoke this morning. I had spent the night in a peaceful slumber filled with hopes and dreams!

My roommate laughs at me sometimes when I tell him of my grand matter of fact dreams that I say I am launching into manifestation!

Most particularly when I proclaim becoming “besties” with my favorite country singer, Reba McEntire.

She was someone I have looked up to my entire life. During my mother’s absences, it was her music that helped me through. My mother was also a fan of Reba and so at first it was just a familiarity that I found comfort in, but over time it became so much more than that.

There would be times when I was feeling a certain way and I would turn on the radio to hear Reba singing a song that matched that exact moment in my life.

The two in particular that stick out the most are “Walk On” and “The World Won’t Stop For My Broken Heart”.

When my mother disappeared at the start of my freshman year of high-school, I had been dabbling with writing poetry and decided to write a thank you letter and poem to Reba. I never expected to get anything back.

To my surprise, I did. She sent me an autographed picture on which she wrote, “To Tiffany, Walk On, Love Reba”

I couldn’t believe it!

It is one of my most treasured possessions and it hangs above my vision board to remind me to stay positive and just keep moving on.

I decided early on in the publishing process that I would be sending Reba another thank you letter and this time it will include a copy of the book. It’s almost 20 years later and she is still an inspiration to me and comfort to my heart.

I sort of met her one time, which is a story I tell in the book and I thought she may get a kick out of it 🙂

I received notice that the first box of books are on there way to my house, so I have been so excited to know that in just a few weeks I will be able to send my letter and a copy of the book to Reba.

I was thinking of this when I awoke this morning and wouldn’t you know…

As I basked in the glow of this up and coming event, who should come on the tele to sing one of my favorite songs?  Yup!

It’s a little serendipitous don’t you think 🙂

Please enjoy another teaser from Insane Roots and I wish you all a very Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!

Image courtesy of Naito8 at FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Leave a Reply

