Feeling Out of Control?

It can be empowering to remind yourself that you are in control of your own life, even if only by controlling your current surroundings. I have found that taking control of just one or two things can help you feel better about yourself and encourage you to tackle the more challenging tasks.

Take today for example, I was feeling a bit overwhelmed by the number of tasks I needed to do (not just those of today), so I ended up spending most of the morning delaying the inevitable. When I finally got started, I could feel myself gaining momentum with the completion of each task. My mind slowly switched over to focusing on the progress I had made rather than the mounting “to do” list ahead of me.

When I took a break for lunch, I compiled a list of tips I have used over the last few months to stay on track. I hope you find them helpful 🙂

1.When trying to make a drastic change in your life, it can be helpful to start a new routine. One where good decisions become habit. It will be hard in the beginning, but as our actions become automatic, they require less will power to complete.

I recently did this to help with my water intake. I was horrible about drinking water, I would reach for anything else instead. When I realized one day that I had gone almost a week without drinking a single glass of water, I decided enough was enough. I started a new routine of drinking 1-2 glasses of water right away in the morning and around bedtime. After some time, it just became habit. I no longer think about doing it, I just do it.

2. Remove Temptation – Stock your fridge with good healthy options and make prep convenient.

I make a salad mix ahead of time and chop up all of the extras so I can easily grab a bowl, mix in the extras and add the dressing. Super healthy, fast and convenient!

3. Think before you act. Take a moment to reflect upon what you do or say before you act upon it. It will save a lot of clean up later, trust me 🙂 Less fires to put out = more time to handle the important stuff!

4. Start slow. Choose one or two main goals to tackle at a time. Taking on too much will leave you overwhelmed and discouraged (I am very guilty of this). Instead, conquer one thing before moving on to another.

This can be true for introducing exercise into your routine as well. First, start by adding stretching to your daily routine, then once that becomes habit, add some cardio or yoga. Go at your own pace. After all, this is all for you so there is no one to impress but yourself.

5. Do the most important and/or the most dreaded task first.

Someone told me this years ago and it has really been useful. I find it best to get the most dreaded task out-of-the-way as soon as possible. Otherwise I spend the whole day preoccupied with how much I don’t want to do it. Tending to the most important or challenging task right away is also beneficial because your energy diminishes as the day goes on.

6. Multi-tasking is not as production as you would think. Instead, focus on one task at a time.

I read somewhere once that we actually waste time by switching from one task to the next. So I tested it out and from my experience I have found it to be true. There are of ‘course many cases where one must multi-task ( I was a server for many years), but when working through my “to do” list I find it better to take it one step at a time 🙂

7. Saved the best for last!  ~ Take breaks!

I try to take a break from whatever I am doing every 90 minutes. It keeps my mind fresh!

These are just some of the things that have helped me.

Are there any methods  you use to stay on track? If so, please share, I would love to hear from you!

One thought on “Feeling Out of Control?

Leave a Reply

