Fun With Audio!

I went to the studio on Saturday to start working on the audio version of Insane Roots and I have got to tell you recording an audio book is a lot more difficult than I ever imagined it would be! I figured it would be easy. After all, I wrote the book, so reading it should be easy right? Not so much.

It was super fun, don’t get me wrong, but being the perfectionist that I am makes it a bit more difficult than I thought it would be. I am working with a dear friend of mine who has a great deal of experience doing voice over and audio production. She has been an enormous help to me. Her production company is Kaleidoscope Studios and we are both looking forward to the exposure this audio book will give us both on Amazon/Audible.

My publisher offered me several options for producing the audio book. I could hand it all over to them to hire a production company and a voice over actress, but I felt that would be too impersonal for a story like mine. Not to mention, I am not sure how I would feel about someone I don’t know reading my story. There is a certain amount of sarcasm and comedy within the pages of Insane Roots, would this be accurately portrayed by someone who has never met me? Maybe, but I didn’t want to take any chances. ~ There is that perfectionist in me ๐Ÿ™‚

The other option was to read the book myself and either have it produced by a production company of the Publisher’s choosing or to hire a production company of my choosing. I had already worked with Kaleidoscope Studios on the audio teasers and I have a strong belief that people enter our lives for one reason or another, so the decision seemed obvious to me.

As I mentioned, we had our first session on Saturday and it was so much fun! It took a while to get comfortable speaking into a microphone, but after some great coaching from my friend I was eventually able to get the hang of it. The worst part for me is the dialogue. I have never been very good at acting or reading children’s books aloud using clever voices and such. There is one story in the book about an argument with a Cockatiel that was particularly challenging. I had been dreading it ever since I decided to do the audio for the book. I think I was more concerned about laughing than I was about how it would sound though, lol.

After I relaxed a bit I began to have some fun with it. I kept reminding myself what a blessing it was that I was given the opportunity to do this at all and that made me smile. Which I am told is a good way to keep yourself from sounding monotone. I noticed that was a problem I had when recording the audio teasers originally. I read the same stories last weekend and you can really hear the difference. It’s all so exciting!

Here is the last of the original audio teasers I recorded. I wish I could share the new one with you, but I don’t have it just yet. I assure you I have improved greatly since then ๐Ÿ™‚ This is one of my favorite stories and I think it sets the pace very well for what is to come. I hope you enjoy!

More Videos

Image courtesy ofย sippakorn at FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Leave a Reply

