The Journey – Part Five: Embracing City Life

This installment of ‘The Journey’ includes a post from Success in the City that in my opinion is perfect for today! It includes a light hearted story to take the edge off the seriousness of this last week.

I don’t know about you, but for me it has been an intense time of reflection on prior decisions. I have spent a great deal of time in my own head, thinking about the past and it’s implications on my future. I have not had very much motivation and find myself emotionally exhausted after playing out the multitude of “what if” scenarios in my mind.

I am healing, but it seems to be taking so long. I struggle with patience and find myself getting frustrated by the unknown. I know I need to stop worrying about the future and focus on the now, but sometimes that is easier said than done.

I am sure we all feel like this sometimes and it can be all-consuming. Which is why it is so important to take a step back sometimes and tell yourself it is okay to let go.

Let go of past grievances, almost lovers and the feeling of always needing to be in control. We are not in control of everything in our life and we never will be. Spending too much time trying to control every aspect of your life will only leave you disappointed and exhausted.

The same is true for hanging on to false hope; let it go! Clinging to it will only leave you discouraged. I am a strong believer that what is meant to be will find its way and if you are too focused on something or someone else, you may never see what is right in front of you.

It’s okay to feel discouraged, but we need to learn to deal with this disappointment and move on.

“You can’t see it now, but that thing you didn’t get will someday be the best thing you never had. Let it go. Better is coming.” – Mandy Hale

Embracing City Life

Originally Posted: March 24, 2015

As I find myself settling in to the Mile High City, I am reminiscent of my first time leaving home to live in the BIG CITY. I was going on 19 years old, from the small town of Roscoe, IL and I was moving clear across the country to live in Seattle Washington. I was excited and nervous all at the same time. When I first arrived, I was in a state of complete culture shock. Where I was from (I realize now), I was a big fish in a small pond, surrounded by friends and family, my confidence was booming! Upon moving to Seattle, I was made aware rather quickly that I was no longer a big fish, but a very, very small one in an ocean I had never experienced before.

In my first adventure downtown on the city’s transit system (something else that was new to me), I was like a kid in a candy store. I jumped from seat to seat on the bus looking around at this new and inspiring place that I now called home. Our first stop was Pikes Place Market. I leaped from the bus to find myself amongst the hustle and bustle of the market place. My companion and I walked the streets exploring this inspiring place we now called home.

After settling on a side street next to a large apartment building, I felt several droplets of what I thought was rain fall on my head. “Well that’s appropriate” I said to my companion who was leaning against the building. “What’s appropriate?”  he asked.

“It’s Seattle and it’s raining” I replied.

Puzzled, he looked at me and said, “Um no it’s not…”

I raised my head to the sky to see a pigeon on the roof above with its bum hanging over the side of the building. He was relieving himself…on my head!

We both roared with laughter and decided it was time to head home.

Even as I was being violated by nature, I was able to find the humor in the moment.

It may sound silly, but this simple story reminded me of the control I have on my own outlook in life. There will be many “pigeons” in my life who wish to rain on my parade and only I have the power to laugh them off and move on. The bird was doing what comes natural to him and I just happened to be below him receiving it.

We can not control the actions of others, but we can control how we allow those actions to affect us.

Leave a Reply

