The Journey – Part Two

We all have those days when we would rather crawl back in bed than face the day ahead. And we also have those days when we leap from our beds rejoicing the day before us.

Its the ups and downs of life.

After a long stretch of low days, it is only natural to fall back in to our old habits of negative thinking. We dwell on the enormity of whatever is bothering us and lose site of all the progress we have made. Sending ourselves down a mental spiral on an emotional roller coaster.

But we cannot always crawl back in bed now can we? Sure, we can wallow in our own misery for a little while, but eventually duty will call in some form or another. Change requires movement and chances are that whatever it is that is troubling us, we will not find the solution by locking ourselves away from the world.

Everyone has their own way of working through their problems. When I am feeling overwhelmed by one or numerous challenges in life, I find it best for me to map everything out on paper. Sometimes it is simply recording my thoughts on the matter and other times it is pulling apart the entire puzzle to put it back together piece by piece.

The ‘puzzle’ method is what I used in the post below to map my journey to reconnecting with myself. I believe reflection is an important part of any healing process. It allows us to recognize patterns in our own behavior and implement what we know works to fight the funkiness!

The more we know ourselves, the better we are at being that person. It seems like common sense, but it sure has taken me a long time to figure it out.

If I had one piece of advice for anyone, it would be simply to believe in yourself. The rest will follow.

Blast From The Past

Originally Posted: February 7, 2015

I recently revisited the best years of my life and it has truly inspired me!

Yesterday, my roommate and I decided to upload all of our old photos to the computer to back them up.  Talk about a  throw back Thursday! We have known each other since we were teenagers (There is a long interesting story in there, but I’m saving that for my second book). I tell you this only so you will understand the sheer magnitude of the project.

Throughout the course of the process, I watched myself grow up and become the person that I have been trying to reconnect with. My scrapbooks were just a glimpse in to that life, this was every photo ever taken!   I am not saying that I have all the answers now, but it definitely helped me to pinpoint the time in my life when I was the happiest and that was in Seattle. It allowed me to narrow in on who I was then in the hopes of being able to clue in on what it was that gave me joy, made me confident and most importantly, what inspired me?

As silly as this may seem to some, I decided to make a list (I love lists!) of what I remembered made me happy back then. The challenge was not in determining what I enjoyed to do, but rather what gave me joy. After I completed this list I made another list. This time I focused on what made me unhappy currently. I then compared the two to give me an idea of steps I should take to improve my current situation and reconnect with myself. I found the activity very useful. I seemed to feel more in control of the situation with a plan of action in place.

For example, one of my greatest joys is my friends, but one of my biggest obstacles is that I am a hermit. This is a challenge having moved to a new city. It’s hard to make friends if you never leave your house! How do I remedy this? For starters, I will make a conscious effort to venture out of my shell and overcome my insecurities so that I am able to meet new people.

There were some items on my list that will only remedy themselves in time, such as financial security and companionship, but it gave me a place to start.

I woke up this morning feeling refreshed and ready to tackle the day! And I did. I made all the phone calls I have been needing to make, worked out my finances,  and finished several lingering projects. It was a very productive day.

I settled down for dinner and decided to catch up on the episode of Grey’s that I missed last night. In the show there was a conversation between Owen and Callie where Callie asks him if he has ever been worried that he may have used up all of his happy? I paused for a moment. Really?  What timing is that? I remember asking myself that same question just before I left Madison. It’s the whole reason for my new ‘finding myself” attitude… maybe it’s the hippie in me, but that is some crazy synchronicity. I’ll take that as a sign that I am on the right path!

Here is to an inspiring weekend!

Leave a Reply

