What Will You Pay Forward?

Is there someone in your life who is surrounded by negativity? Someone who spends their time in a state of “woe is me”? Are they close minded to any other opinion or the idea that life can get any better?

For those of us motivated for positive change, these types of people can be very discouraging. They may be people we care about or simply acquaintances we have no choice but to coexist with. Either way, this negative and/or close minded thinking can become very challenging to our blissful state of being. We all have down days, that is to be expected, but when your Facebook feed is filled with long diatribes of discontent and self pity it grows very tiring for all those involved.

In my post today on Success in the City Blog, I shared a mission statement that I was inspired to compose after reading one of my favorite blogs: MindBodyHeartHealing. I find it relevant to repeat it here:

“To live life to its fullest, honestly, and faithfully. Striving for success both financially and spiritually in an effort to inspire and encourage others to believe in themselves and never give up on their dreams, no matter how far from reach they may seem.”

(It’s a bit wordy, but it was my first attempt :))

So, when I switched from WordPress to Facebook to find myself inundated with close minded declarations and negativity, I was inspired to start taking action. If my mission is to encourage others to believe in themselves, then I should feel inspired to bring positivity to the woe is me mentality of those sharing my Facebook space, right?

Right!

For someone like me who has been through some pretty hard times, I have learned not to sweat the small stuff. I know that there are those out there who have it worse off than I ever have and I am by no means trying to diminishing their hardships either. What I am attempting to do is to encourage others to take life’s many challenges and learn what you can from them. The more negative your thinking, the less positive your experiences. It is a cycle not worth repeating.

From the first disappointment in our lives we are given a choice as to how we will let it shape us. From a very early age, I learned that my life would be a struggle and it has been. However, I now credit my strength to all of these very trying experiences. I could have spent my entire life blaming my mother for ruining my chances at a better life, but instead I took responsibility for my own happiness and put as much energy as I could into staying positive. Don’t get me wrong, I have not always been a positive person, but I look back on my days of wallowing in self pity and I can see how self-defeating those actions were.

I was fortunate enough to have many people in my life who loved and encouraged me throughout the years. My wish is to pay this love and support forward to those who may be experiencing their own challenges in life.

Negativity breeds negativity, so lets all just try to be as positive as possible!  🙂

What will you pay forward?

2 thoughts on “What Will You Pay Forward?

Leave a Reply

