A Story About a Boy Named Steve…

This is a story about a boy named Steve. I thought it was fitting to post today, seeing as it is TBT and all 🙂

When I first met this boy, I was 18 years old and thought I knew it all. We connected through a mutual friend and upon first meeting, we hated each other! I thought he was self-centered and beyond rude and he thought I was a simple small town girl who spent most of my day worrying about whether my make-up looked okay or not. Neither opinion could have been further from the truth.

As time marched on, we were forced to spend a great deal of time together. After getting to know each other, we realized that our first impressions of one another we completely inaccurate and eventually we grew to be very good friends. I was drawn to  his free spirit and his love for life. At the time, he was preparing for a walk about in California with a buddy of his and I remember finding his fearlessness for this adventure to be all inspiring. In the months before he was to leave, I began to have feelings for him. To this day, I remember the exact moment I realized I was falling for him. I had fallen and scrapped my knee pretty badly and he took me inside to bandage me up. I watched him as he cleaned the wound, applied the ointment and affixed the bandage. When he finished, he looked up at me with a smile and I knew it right then. It hit me like a ton of bricks. I had never looked at him in that way before, but there was no going back now; I was hooked!

I knew he would be leaving soon and as a result this new revelation caused me great fear. I had just been heartbroken by a misleading friendship/relationship and I was not  about to put myself through that again. So, I resorted to my go to move at that time; avoidance. I stopped answering his calls and tried to put him out of my mind. After the walk about, he planned to move to Seattle, Washington, so I saw no point in pursuing anything further.

After repeated attempts to contact me with no response, he left me what he told me would be his last message. He was leaving the following week and said that this would be my last chance to see him before he left. I listened to the message twice and battled with what I should do. I gave it a great deal of thought and decided that it was only fair to say goodbye and after all he only had one more week in town so what could it hurt? I called him back and we made plans to get together for his going away party the following weekend. When I arrived there was a lot of people there already, which was great because I didn’t really want to be alone with him for fear I may do or say something I would regret.

After some time, I lost track of him and ended up sitting in the kitchen talking to a buddy of his. We were hitting it off pretty well and he eventually leaned in to kiss me. I welcomed the kiss, but a few moments later I felt someone tugging on my arm. I turned to find Steve with a very unhappy look on his face.

“Can I talk to you?…NOW” he asked as he began pulling me away.

“Um sure” I replied as I looked apologetically back at the boy I had just been lip to lip with.

At the time, Steve was living in an apartment above a barbershop on main street in our home town of Roscoe, IL. He took me downstairs and sat me down on the barbershop steps. He confessed his love to me right then and there. It was like a scene straight out of a movie. I was in awe. No one had ever been that frank with me before and I was sure no one had ever felt for me the way he did. I thought about rejecting him and lying about my feelings, but I just couldn’t do it. I did love him and I reasoned with myself that this may be my first chance at true love. How could I walk away from that? It was something I had always dreamed of. I decided that I had to take the chance. So I did and from that moment on, my life was never the same…

The story continues, but I will need to stop here for fear of giving away too much of the second book. As I have mentioned in previous posts, I am hoping to continue my memoir in a series if the first book is a success (my mother’s crazy excursions won’t all fit in one book). The story of a boy named Steve will continue throughout the rest of the series, as  he has been a constant in my life ever since our original meeting. I can tell you that our relationship has changed over the years into something that will surely surprise you and the love we share still remains strong despite its many changes in direction.

I hope you enjoyed our little fairytale, I certainly have!

Leave a Reply

